Life’s Little Curve Balls


Saturday did not go as planned.  Very little of my “to-do” list was even touched.  I have to make up for it today.

Yesterday did not go as planned either.  While I had a lovely day, there was a ton of things that got done that was also not on my to-do list.

For example, we woke up with the knowledge that our bed was going to have to be replaced.  Meaning shopping.  There is a reason most of my female characters hate shopping.  It’s because I hate shopping.  However, we loaded up a little before noon and hit the furniture store.  To my surprise, I got no resistance from my SO when I told the salesman that we absolutely did not want a traditional inner spring mattress… We wanted something with memory foam and cooling gel foam.  Even more impressive, after lying on 15 or so memory foam mattresses, my SO even agreed they were better than the pillow-top inner spring that he had been lobbying for a few hours earlier.  And he even liked the exact same bed I did.  We bought the new set.  Of course, it wasn’t in stock because it is popular, we will get it Friday.  Until then, we will suffer through with our broken down traditional pillow-top inner spring mattress.  But I’m excited about the new one.

Then there was more shopping…  This time the garden section at Menard’s.  We needed stuff for our tomato plants.  And I wanted to see if they had any gargoyle or dragon statuettes for the yard.  They didn’t.  I can remember a time when gargoyle statuettes and fountains were all the rage.  Now that I have a place to put them, I can’t seem to find one anywhere.

See, we are supposed to be decorating our camp site, since it is “permanent”.  My SO and I have very different decorating tastes.  I prefer gothic, he likes tractor planters made out of landscape timbers.  We compromised, a little of both, his and mine.  I have been searching around for some gothic or mythical stuff to put onto the site (we are the first campsite and his parents would like it decorated nicely to show off the campground).  I haven’t found much.

After that, we went to see friends.  We were there about an hour before more shopping.  The Blockbuster in town is going out of business.  All their library titles are $5.99.  We bought a few then headed home.  We watched Herbie goes Bananas while we made dinner.

All in all, a good day.  However, I haven’t gotten my cover for Elysium Dreams yet, starting to panic.  I have 12 days left, a little less.  I need to get it.  I also need to go through the final round of edits and decide if they are really things that need to be changed or not.  Today, my life as a writer returns.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Sometimes a day spent on the “everything else” is good for the soul.
    I am picturing gargoyles dressed in straw hats and holding pitchforks in their little claws sitting around your campsite… 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. I wonder where I find Zombie Farmers… If anyone sees one, send me a note with it’s location!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Maria D.

     /  July 1, 2013

    There are some gothic garden statues online….gargoyles and dragons…you just have to search and it won’t be in person but you can at least get some ideas. I’m very excited about the upcoming release of Elysium Dreams

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, I’ll have to do some searching. My cousin used to get a cool catalog but I don’t remember what it was called and tomorrow’s blog post… The Elysium Dreams Cover!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

