Injustice for All?


The world talks a lot about discrimination based on race, gender, sexual orientation and religion.  But what happens when there is discrimination based on none of that?

I’ve had a job where it didn’t matter how well I did, my superiors didn’t recognize it.  I eventually got fed up and quit, because I didn’t know what the problem was.  Looking back, I’ve figured it out.  Budgets were tight and my counter-part, who had less seniority than me, had two small children and was divorced.  So when it came time for raises, hers was always bigger than mine.  After all, I was single and didn’t have children.

I actually quit because I did see her paycheck once and she made almost $4 an hour more than me, even though I had worked there for 2 years longer than her and I consistently received “excellent” on my reviews and evaluations.  However, we had the same job title and theoretically, everything worked on a merit system.

I see it happening again.  Not with me this time.  I can’t say who or where, only that it is happening.  It makes me angry.  It makes me want to tell the four people getting shafted to “walk out” and prove a point.  Although, for the life of me, I can’t understand why it is happening?

The place and employees involved have always been a well oiled machine, working together to move forward, efficiently.  Now, there seems to be a tooth broken on one of the wheels or a cog that has come completely off and everyone is miserable.  I keep wondering if they just don’t see it or if they do and are ignoring it because, so far, everyone continues to come to work…

Only time will tell, but I have a feeling, a much loved business is headed for dark days.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I hope they get it worked out : ( It’s hard to be treated unfairly.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

