Sore Ears and Insurance Issues… grrrrr


After making all the changes suggested by the editor, I am now in the “clean up stage” of Elysium Dreams.  Since I have been burned a few times with bad editing, I have decided to “listen” to Elysium Dreams.  It’s a good thing, I’ve already caught one error.

However, listening to the computerized voice read my novel is about as exciting as watching the grass grow.  Also, I couldn’t find my head phones and had to break out the ear buds.  This was fine for the first half of the day.  Not so great during the afternoon or evening.  I had to trade to a different pair around 3 p.m. (mine were borrowed for the evening… long story… for another time).  The replacement pair were bigger and now the inside of one of my ears is sore.  I wish I could find my head phones.  I like them so much better.

Now, I’m going to rant a bit… My SO and I had to take our camper (caravan for all my British readers) in for repairs.  During a wind storm, the slide out frame was bent, effectively breaking it.  It is insured, with Progressive, along with all my SO’s cars… he has 3 of them.

We got the estimate for the damage last week $2600.  Then insurance told us it was impossible for the damage to have been caused during a storm; one there hasn’t been a storm in that area and two if the winds were that high, it would have flipped it over.  Except I had pictures that proved otherwise and actually, there were several wind storms including two tornadoes this spring in that area.

Progressive doesn’t want to pay for the damage.  We think that since we pay them all year for exactly this sort of problem, that they should pay for the damage, less our deductible, of course.  Otherwise, it would make more sense for us to keep the money we pay them year after year and just stick it in an account to draw interest and pay for damage out of that.  In the three years we’ve owned the camper, we’ve paid them that much in payments.

Technically, this doesn’t impact me directly.  I do not have to deal with Progressive or its representatives.  I use a different insurance company for my car and the house.  In the five years I’ve been using them, I’ve had zero problems.

However, indirectly, it is making my life hell.  Every time my SO has to deal with Progressive he gets in a bad mood.  Then he comes home cranky.  And I have to deal with Mr. Cranky-Pants.  If the Progressive adjuster had to live with my SO on those nights, he’d just write the check and call it a day.  But he doesn’t…

This experience is really souring me on Progressive.  Especially since I am already stressed out.  I have a book to publish and publicize.  I have started an exercise routine (that I still hate).  I am missing my weekends away from Columbia because my camper is broken.  My To-Do List is getting longer than my arm.  I am still trying to use the electronic cigarette (which makes me cough when I actually take a drag off of it).  And I don’t do stress very well to begin with… I have an anxiety disorder.  I wonder if they care that they are making my life intolerable?  My guess… No.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

