Soliciting Bloggers & So Much More


Over the last few months, I have been approached to review some books on my blog or start a blog specifically for book reviews. I am an avid reader and enjoy using terms like “the eternal feminine” and “eternal masculine” along with other coined phrases from my extensive literature classes.

I am resistant. Yes, I read all the time, at least a book a week. But reviewing is hard work.

In the last week, I have also been soliciting blotters to read and review my work. One of those solicited offered a tit-for-tat, I read and review hers, she reviews mine… I am still resistant.

Sure I blog, but I don’t have a huge following and I am very picky about what I read. Although, Jack Kilborn is quickly becoming a favorite.

I have been doing the leg work to specifically try to get bloggers to read and review my work. Now I understand why there are companies I can pay to do this for me… 47 inquiries went out last week, 3 responded. And all three are too busy. Damn.

So to any of my blotting friends or fans, feel free to contact me if you want a free copy to review for your blog. 😉

I finally figured out a migraine analogy: a headache is like spraining your ankle; a migraine is like shattering all the bones in your leg.

Also, I got my first 1-star review.  On Goodreads about Dark Cotillion.  I thought I would feel disappointed or upset.  I don’t.  I read the review, shrugged and moved on.

Edits should be back tomorrow on Elysium Dreams.  It will be time to set to work, get it polished and ready for publication in July.  Told you it was still on track for a July publishing date.

I’m still tired from my last migraine episode.  When morning came, I didn’t want to get out of bed.  I have plans for the day, but I’m not sure I want to do them.  Staying home and taking a nap sounds pretty good.

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I have the same feeling of resistance to anything that makes me feel obligated to write a review. I do review a lot (I haven’t lately because I haven’t been reading much lately) but I do it when I feel that something is good enough that I want to tell other people about it. I don’t like reviewing books that I don’t like, and how can I know if I’ll like something before I read it?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

