Emergency


I ended up at the ER last night.  My medicine powerless over the migraine I had been fighting.  Most of the time, my doctor or the ER gives me the “migraine cocktail” shot that consists of tordol, fennegren (an anti-nausea medicine that I can’t spell) and demerol.  Not last night.  The doc on call in the ER had never heard of the migraine cocktail.  He asked what was in it.  I could remember the first two, but not the third.  So he had them inject me with Tordol, Fennergren, and Valium (because I did have a touch of vertigo with it and I had unfortunately purged my anxiety meds along with my migraine meds, earlier in the evening).

Interestingly, as I told him what was wrong with me, I found myself using descriptors that I had written for Elysium Dreams.  I have Aislinn getting struck down by a migraine in the book.  For some reason, those written words were all I could come up when asked how I felt.

Around 1 a.m., my SO woke me up for the umpteenth time to tell me how badly I was snoring and I moved to the couch.  Then I woke up as he got ready to leave for work.  I feel cheated being awake.  I have been known to sleep eighteen hours or more after coming off a bad migraine (last night it became a 9 on the pain scale, I was vomiting, something I haven’t done with a migraine in ages).  And I have developed migraine tolerance… Your ten, might be my three on the pain scale.  My nine, would have most people begging to have their brains removed (or their complete heads).  I did get to talk to an on-call neurologist.  By then I was drugged and the migraine was fading away.  The neurologist reminded me of the Demerol.   I have twenty-four hours and three migraine pills to keep it away or else…

I know what the “or else” is and it isn’t happening.  I hate hospitals.  I hate being admitted to hospitals.  Especially since I have used DHE self-inject in the past.

And as usual, I woke up with a hangover.  The hangover is a result of both the drugs and the migraine.  Migraines have side effects, my brain feels like jello.  I’ll have speech problems all day.  I’ll be very sleepy.  And not only will I be tired, but I’ll be lethargic.  The simple act of getting up seems like a herculean feat.

Of course, part of this was my fault.  I should have gone to bed at 4 p.m. yesterday and stayed there.  I should not have “toughed it out” and made dinner or ate dinner or spent time with my SO.  The noise, the light, all of it compounded on a migraine that was about a seven to make it a nine and send me into the torture chamber of an ER waiting room.

I don’t know if I’m better today.  There is a ghost migraine, part of the hangover, lurking around my brain.  I don’t know if the ghost is just a rebound migraine waiting for a chance to overwhelm me or a memory of the pain.  Either way, I’ll do as the neurologist said and take three migraine pills today.  Tomorrow, if it’s back, I may just cut off my own head.  I wonder where I can get a guillotine…

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Sounds terrible. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

