Flash Flood Warning In Effect


My phone texted me this morning with this message:  Flash Flood Warning this area til 1:30 pm CDT.  Avoid flood areas.  Check local media. – NWS

It has been raining hard and steady since sometime last night.  I would be more surprised if there wasn’t a flash flood warning.

However, that isn’t what concerns me at the moment.  We camp on the beautiful Elk River.  The Elk River is normally a lazily moving river that isn’t very deep in most places and is prone to flooding.  And when I say we camp on the Elk, I really do mean it.  Wayside Campground where we stay is in a low water area and it is about 15 meters from our door to the river.

Not only is Columbia, Missouri and Kansas City, Missouri and St. Louis, Missouri flooding, but in Noel, Missouri it is expected to rain for the next several days.

My best just informed me that she is flooded in.  All roads leading out of her subdivision have been closed.  Pity, we were going to have lunch today.

Anyway, crossing my fingers about vacation…

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I’m supposed to run errands before I go out of town for a week. I’m not sure what I’m going to do about that. This rain is crazy!

    Like

    Reply
  2. I told my mom this weather makes me feel like I need to figure out what a cubit is and start building! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

