The Sprint to “The End”


By some miracle, I added 9,000 words to Elysium Dreams yesterday.  My goal is 75,000 words total because it will grow when my content editor gets hold of it.  And it may grow when the copy editor gets hold of it.  My books are known to do that.

This makes me just 15,000 words shy of putting of “The End”.  Something I can easily do in three days (since my goal is to have it to my content editor on Saturday when she comes over to watch the UEFA Championships… I think… I know it’s Bayern v. Dortmund and that’s all I need to know… Go Bayern!).

However, this means we’ve hit the home stretch and everything is happening very quickly, both in my mind and on the pages.  My fingers have much more trouble keeping up with my brain when we hit this section.  I can’t just type, my fingers need to fly over the keys.

Worse, I didn’t sleep last night… Tummy troubles… So as I lay in bed, I had lots of time to generate ideas and tie up loose story points in my head.  This means my brain already has the next 15,000 words written.  I just need my fingers to comply and some “exposition” to fill in the gaps.

I love writing endings, but I find them formidable opponents.  Did I get everything?  Did I miss a loose end?  Did I forget a huge detail?  These are questions that my content editor will answer after she has read through it a few times, making massive amounts of notes.  Then we will go through it section by section to talk about what needs to be added, deleted or changed.

Then what?!?  I will be done until the editors come back to me.  What will I do with myself?  I’m notoriously bad about writing while I wait for edits.  Will I enter the world of video games and British television?  That’s always a possibility.  There are still episodes of Midsommer Muders that I haven’t seen and I’m interested in the new Jason Isaac show.  Of course, there are always the fall backs, Waiting for God, Monty Python, Black Books

Or maybe I’ll focus all my energy and attention on a new Nadine Novella.  I can usually churn one of those out in a week.  I’ve got one started.  Maybe I can finish it while I wait for edits…

Who knows?  All I can say with any certainty is that by weekend, my hands are going to hurt in my sprint to “The End”.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

