Must Write!


My goal has been to complete Elysium Dreams by 1 June to send it to the editor while I am gone on vacation.  The last four days have put me in a bind and the need to “write anything” is becoming critical.  I had worked my way down to 1,800 words a day needed to complete the story and am now back up to 2,600 words per day.  For me, 2,600 words a day is quite achievable.  However, since I am sitting on my couch at home and not my couch at the studio… I see it going up a little more.

My air conditioner is still broke and in typical Missouri fashion, we are in the process of skipping Spring.  It is supposed to be 80 degrees today.  Not terribly hot, but all my studio windows face East.  They also face into a parking lot surrounded by three other buildings.  The air in the parking lot doesn’t move unless the wind is really gusting from the East.

But that would require a thunderstorm, because air doesn’t normally gust east to west unless the currents are moving just right… Meaning, I can go to the studio and work, but by 1 or 2 p.m., it is going to be unbearable.  Having the windows open means opening the curtains to let in the morning sun.  I did that last week and baked.  By noon, it was 82 degrees, odd since it was only 72 degrees outside.

However, I get nothing accomplished when I am at home.  So, my daily word count will continue to climb…

On a happier note, I spoke with an artist friend of mine who enjoys drawing fairies and she is going to tackle a few of the Strachan fairies.  Once those are done, I’m going to have her brave into new forays and draw some of the other characters.  I look forward to that endeavor.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

