Weekend, Word Counts and Something Akin to Wisdom


I had an interesting weekend.  Both my mother and my mother-in-law liked their Mother’s Day gifts, but my mother was cranky.  So it was interesting to listen to her during supper.  We had a good time up at the camp ground.  Our golf cart (which is more like an ATV than a golf cart) has been fixed.  This is particularly spectacular since it is quite a hike to our private lake and back.  I’ve done it, but I was pretty sure I was going to have a heart attack in the field on the way back.

That was also the weekend of the infamous hand print.  Sort of funny story:  I slathered up in sunscreen because I was going finishing while my SO mowed.  But couldn’t do my back.  I did manage to slap some on.  I then asked my SO to finish up for me.  He didn’t grab sunscreen he grabbed lotion.  My back fried!  I was so incredibly burnt, that I was cutting the backs out of his old shirts and tying them together to because I couldn’t stand for anything to touch my skin.  However, in the dead center of my back, it looked as though an alien had touched me.  The outline of my handprint, which had streaked downwards when I realized I couldn’t do the entire thing, was not burnt.  I was like that for a week, I mean the shirts without backs part.  It was the first sunburn I’d ever had and it was a doozy.  However, three months later, you could still see the handprint.

I’ve had to readjust my daily word count goals.  I normally write on Saturdays, but the next several are booked.  I’ll be doing something for Jason’s nephew this weekend and the following weekends, I’m preparing for Coop, the world’s largest outdoor dart tournament.  The tournament lasts three days.  My crew of campers don’t bother to play in it, except Friday night, but we go down for seven days on the Elk River.  Fun, sun, water and a float trip with some of my favorite non-local darters.  It’s a good time.

However, as a result, my daily goal had to be adjusted.  I have every intention of having Elysium Dreams written and to the editor before I go.  Means I must write faster.

I recently went back through twenty novels I had written that will never be published and with good reason.  However, they have some good stuff in them and I’ve been using them as “quotes of the day”.  The result is something akin to wisdom.  Several have been very zen.

I am trying to get one of my friends, who loves to draw fairies and mythical creatures, to tackle some  characters from the Strachan novels.  I need to talk to her about it again.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. What is your new word count goal? My current goal is set pretty small, but I’m trying for bundles of extra words throughout the week. I may use #1K1hr on Twitter on some evenings after work. Small boosts 😉

    Like

    Reply
  2. 2,500 a day is my current count goal. However, it will go up after today as I am not working on it and won’t today or tomorrow. I’m hoping Wednesday, Thursday and Friday are very productive for me. If not, Jason may have to deal with my laptop this weekend… 😀

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

