Viable Marketing Units


Unfortunately, as my own publicist as well as publisher, author and co-worker, there are a lot of areas of the publishing world that I had never considered until this year.  I am slowly learning that I have to look at each of my books as a viable marketing unit.  I’ll use Tortured Dreams for my example piece because it sold really well last month after I ran an advert.

Last month, by the middle of April, I realized that I had sold zero copies of Tortured Dreams.  So I shelled out the ten bucks and ran a one day on Bargain Ebooks.  The title is currently priced at $0.99, it will probably stay that way.  I sold roughly fifty Amazon copies.  I sold a handful on each of my other sites as well with the exception of Smashwords (I have terrible Smashwords sales in general, even my free books do not do well on the site).  I also began a Goodreads Give-Away (as you’ll notice on the right side of the screen).

This morning, I decided to take a few moments to see if it had gotten me anything other than sales.  Ads get them to the book, reviews and the synopsis gets the book purchased.  And I did have new reviews.  So, between iBooks, Kobo, B&N, Goodreads and Amazon I have 15 reviews total for the book.  Surprisingly, all of them are 5-star reviews (I did not include my own “rating & review” on Goodreads).

Great, I have the information, now what do I do with it?  Well, first it proves what the publishing houses told me years ago… Aislinn Cain & the Marshals that she shares her stories with are marketable characters.  I understand why the wanted to “own” them and while I might not have been able to put it into words before, I know why I didn’t want them to own them.

Second, it means these books are probably good candidates for book tours and heavy promotion.  Not that the others aren’t, but the Strachan series requires more dedication from a reader than a Cain novel.  There is more left to the imagination and more that needs to be explained in the alternate universe.  It does well among the Fantasy crowd, but there isn’t a lot of cross-over where mystery lovers are also reading them and vice-versa.

Third, and this was the big surprise, as my giveaway continues, I notice ebook sales are still trickling in.  Yesterday, another 5-star review showed up on Goodreads and yesterday, I had a spike in sales after it happened.  People are learning about the book through the giveaway, but buying the ebook to check it out each time a new review goes up.

Essentially, Tortured Dreams, is a very viable marketable unit.  More so than the Nadine Daniels’ books and perhaps more so than the Strachan novels.  Obviously, I need to dedicate some more time and energy into marketing it.  Especially as the second one, Elysium Dreams, gets closer to being published.

Of course, it does not mean I can should abandon my other projects.  I have a large contingency of Strachan fans and I have a Daniels’ following.  It does mean that I should put more of my marketing dollar into the Cain series.

That is all… Unicorns and silver linings to all…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

