New York City


My best friend’s birthday is in September.  She decided she wanted to go to New York City for it.  Museums, Zoos, Broadway shows, that sort of stuff.

My birthday is in August.  So for my birthday, she is buying me a plane ticket to go with her to New York City.

It will be a short vacation, four or five days, but I can live with that.  Aside from the Chicken Coop Open (which is in Missouri and the world’s largest outdoor dart tournament), I haven’t had a vacation in six years.  No, make that seven… We won’t count the weekend trip to Chicago that I took with my mother and nephews six years ago.  My oldest nephew got sick our first day there.  I got sick on the drive home.  It was rough.  Not much of a vacation.

Her and I travel well together.  She tells me where were going and I navigate.  We both snore, so the other one doesn’t seem to notice.  We both enjoy the same sorts of things (except heights… she’s fine with them, I hate them!!).  Flying is always a terrifying experience for me, but that’s why I have her.  She holds my hand.

Once in flight, I’m ok.  I don’t get up and move about the plane.  I like for the window to be firmly closed.  Take off and landing, that’s another story.  I count in foreign languages so that I have to concentrate on that instead of the steep climb or steep descent.  My eyes are closed.  My fingers gripping the arm rest so hard they hurt.

I did get brave enough to take a quick peek out the window once.  We were circling Newark Airport and in the path was the Meadowlands.  Being the football fan that I am, I grabbed a quick aerial view of it.  Then they were firmly shut again until the plane touched down.

Hmmm, only May and I am already excited about the trip.  Buy more of my books so I have more money to spend!  😀  (Just kidding!)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

