The Pitfalls of “The End”


I finished all the edits on Thursday and began the final reading yesterday.  This is a slow process.  I have to read it as an editor, not a writer or a reader.  However, there is still some room for additions.  A sentence here or there.

Today though, I decided to use my lunch break to eat a sandwich and watch a documentary on whether giant octopus exist or not.  The jury it would seem, is still out on that…

But it created another problem.  It created a thought.  There is a perfect place in Dark Resurrections for Brenna and her coven to battle a water-based creature.  A giant cephalopod such as an octopus or squid would be perfect.

Yet, that is not a sentence… that is three or four paragraphs, possibly more.  And I know how out of sync my fingers and brain can become.  So adding it, means editing it… intensely.

This is one of the many pitfalls of “The End”.  You finish and send it to be edited and then, BAM, like being hit in the face with a volleyball, inspiration strikes.  The battle with the giant cephalopod is a great idea.  For the life of me, I can’t imagine where I would use it if I don’t put it into Dark Resurrections.

My work grows when I edit anyway.  I usually gain about 3,000 words total.  Not just from forgotten and missed words, but from adding a sentence here and there.  So far, Dark Resurrections has already gained 2,000 words and I’m barely half way done with the reading.  I don’t consider this a “bad thing”, quite the opposite.  It can be very useful when I fall a little short of my intended goal (as I did with Dark Resurrections).  It is editing the additions that trip me up.  If I read it more than twice (this is my second time), I tend to hate it on the third and want to change everything.  That is not productive.

I have actually scrapped novels that were probably good on the third read just because at that point, I decided I hated them.  Some of them were very good according to my beta-readers… but they went the way of the dodo regardless.

To add or not to add, that is my question today…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

