Hopes, Dreams, Aspirations… Call them what you will


I hope when I get 100 followers, WordPress gives me another trophy.  It doesn’t bolster bright fuzzy feelings, but it is kind of funny to open the notifications page and see it there.

Bright and fuzzy feelings are created only by a job well done.  For instance, Dark Cotillion got another 5-star rating yesterday on Amazon. Job well done, let the bright fuzzy feelings overwhelm for a minutes to bask in the afterglow.

See, that’s the thing most people don’t understand.  I have wanted to be a writer, specifically a novelist, since I was about eight years old.  There were moments when I had back-up plans; I’ll be an archaeologist  I’ll be a marine biologist, I’ll be an historian (which is what I did become eventually).  But they were always my back-up plans, never my main goal or ambition.

Twenty-plus years later and here I am… Historian, speaker of German & Russian, trivia master and Novelist.  I am no longer just an aspiring writer or a student writer.  I am a writer.  To be able to say that is one of the most incredible statements I could make.  Yes, people make comments because I’m a self-published writer, but that was a choice I made.  I’ve been offered writing contracts, I just never would sign them… They always wanted the rights to my characters and that was something I was unwilling to do.

But it doesn’t matter now, because as I write this, all those contracts that I didn’t sign are meaningless.  I made it anyway.  When you’ve chased a dream as long as I have, every good bit that happens, is intoxicating.  And I am not easily excited, so that just gives more proof to the passion I have for what I do.

Honestly, I never thought I’d be here.  I always figured I would continue to get contract offers for each new Aislinn Cain novel I wrote, but that I would always have the same problem… They’d want to own the characters.  Now, I have more options and I have the ability to produce more than just Cain novels.  Look at my Strachan series…  Or my Nadine stories… I have fans for all of them.

As a matter of fact, until I published The Dysfunctional Honeymoon and ran the Tortured Dreams advert, the only sales I had this month were Strachan sales.  (*Note to self: Remember to advertise every month).

Now, I have a new aspiration… I’ll talk about it more in May.

Well, I got my Facebook cover photo redone.  I got my Twitter redone.  Now all I have to do, is convince myself to buy this blog and redo it.  Something for another day.  I have a lot on my plate right now.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

