It’s Wednesday…


I feel like I should have Winnie the Pooh go talk to Winter.  “Um, excuse me Winter, but I think you are confused.  It’s April in Missouri, they expect rain not ice and snow.”  Yes, I can say all that with a Winnie the Pooh voice in my head as you should when you read it.  It rained all day yesterday, I expect that in April.  I did not expect to wake up to find a layer of slushy ice on the cars.  Of course, three years ago, I spent 15 hours in a bowling alley in Windsor Missouri in the company of great friends and found it snowing it’s butt off when we finally did leave (at roughly 5 a.m.).  But like this, by early morning, it had completely melted.

Books:  I helped my author ranking yesterday.  I ran a small advert for Tortured Dreams.  I hadn’t done any advertising for it yet.  It worked well.  Not only did it move me from #75,??? in the Amazon Author ranking to #5,??? but I sold a ton of copies of Tortured Dreams on both Amazon and Nook.  Even more surprising though, it’s sister promotional company picked up Tortured Dreams to run today on their notifications and it cost me nothing.  The best sort of advertising.

Now that Amazon owns Goodreads, I have realized I must become more active on the site.  I am having a Tortured Dreams Giveaway.  I believe it starts the 28th of April and runs through the 28th of May.  I am also checking on the site more often, trying to participate in forums and groups, gather fans, etc.  So far, I’m failing.  But it’s been a lousy month for me both personally and professionally.

Oddly, nothing bad has happened in either.  I’m not sleeping though and that’s a bit rough on me.  I thought it was lack of physical exercise, so yesterday I did a bunch of household chores since I was home.  I still didn’t sleep worth a damn.  Sometimes, this happens to me though.  I get in a pattern of not sleeping or not sleeping well and it takes a while to cycle out of it.  My SO is talking in his sleep between 2 and 4 a.m. every night and that isn’t helping.  Book sales have sucked this month, I plummeted from being in the top #10,000 in author rank at the beginning of the month to being in the 75,000’s yesterday.  I am hopeful that Tortured Dreams will take care of some of that…  Now that I’ve done advertising for it.

The electronic cigarette is working to some degree.  I do smoke less while writing.  But it is too strong and gives me a headache when I use it for too long.

I remade the cover for Dark Illumination last night.  Waiting on some people to check in with which cover they like better.  Once I have their feedback, I’ll be posting it.  I’m excited about the new covers.

That might be part of it.  I am still waiting to get the edits back on Dark Resurrections.  April seems to be racing by, I desperately want to publish it in early May, but with only six days left in this month, I have serious doubts it is going to happen.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

