South… Armadillos… :-D


Friday, my best friend headed for Lake Table Rock.  Her parents have a house and private dock there.  She was going to spend the weekend.  She called me as she passed through Branson, MO to complain to me about me.

You see, I dedicated all the armadillos in The Dysfunctional Honeymoon to her.  She’s the one that planted that seed for them to exist in the book.  Not armadillos specifically, but something generally cute that Nadine could be afraid of… I came up with armadillos.

Now, I know that armadillos are not exactly cute or cuddly, but they aren’t spiders, jaguars, or pit vipers…

Back to the phone call.  She called to complain that on the way down to Lake Table Rock, she had noticed every dead armadillo on the road.

The only thing I could think: That is awesome!  Glad I could make the book stick with her.

On a different topic… Some may have noticed that I almost exclusively post in the morning.  If I don’t, I post a very short bit in late evening.

This is a writer’s trick.  I use my morning blog post to prepare me for a day of writing.  It is meant to kick start my brain into thinking about putting words down on the page.  It is my morning writing exercise.  Without it, I have trouble getting into the day and since I have a lot to get accomplished… I really need my brain functioning on all cylinders.

On another side note:  I noticed that for some reason B&N published The Dysfunctional Honeymoon under the name Hadena Jones.  I can’t imagine why.  I know I didn’t make that mistake and my laptop doesn’t autocorrect…  Working on fixing it now.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

