Sales, A Trophy & A Progress Report


We’ll start by talking about book sales.  It’s been a slow month for me.  Since the cover-lift on Dark Cotillion, I have tripled the number of downloads in a day.  And it’s sequel, Dark Illumination is selling slowly, but steadily.  I haven’t sold a single copy of another book all month.  I haven’t sold hardly anything on Nook.  This is the first month since January that I haven’t done any advertising.  I think that is big part of the problem.  I also think that sales of Dark Illumination would pick up if I changed the cover.  Yes, I realize that as the second in a series, it is unlikely to pick up tons, but right now, there is no continuity in covers.  I find continuity effects sales.  I think I’ve found the cover I want for it.  I just need to break down and shell out the money for it.

Yesterday, while editing and revising The Dysfunctional Honeymoon I used the electronic cigarette.  I discovered some interesting things.  One: I thought my cigarettes burned out in ashtrays when I wrote.  My lips tell me otherwise.  After a few hours, I found my lips were sore and tired.  Since I work alone, it wasn’t from flapping my jaws.  It was the weight of the e-cigarette.  I kept it firmly clamped between my lips for most of the time I wrote.  Second:  I smoked less.  Or at least, wasted fewer cigarettes.  I didn’t light up cigarette after cigarette.  Third:  I don’t actually smoke the cigarettes I light.  They sit between my lips, waiting for me to take a drag.  With the e-cigarette, I realized I rarely took a drag off of it.  This explains why I was always having to relight my cigarettes.  Finally:  I think I can write with it.  I managed to revise with it.  A lot of people talk about how they only smoke when they drink or when they are at a bar or whatever.  For me, writing has always been my killer.  I’ve quit smoking in the past, but let me get into a serious writing session and all I can think about is having a cigarette.  It’s why I’ve always started back up in the past.  Do I think it will stop me smoking?  Not in the least, but it will help my lungs and my pocketbook.

Finally, when I opened WordPress this morning, there was a trophy sitting in the “notifications” section.  It would appear that I had hit some “landmark” defined by them.  Thanks everyone!  I like getting trophies, even if they are just little icons at the top of the screen!

And it continues to rain and storm here.  The darkness outside definitely effects the darkness inside.  Not enough lights to make it bright and cheery.  Yesterday we had tornado warnings.  They expect it to be worse today.  Fun!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

