Shit Happens… I Understand That… But Come On Already…


Two weeks ago, I contacted a cover artist to give Dark Cotillion a cover-lift.  According to the store policies, it would take about a week.  I was fine with that.  The book has been published and I’m just trying to spruce it up a bit.  The artist claimed they loved series work… bonus because at some point, all the covers will need to be redone.

I approved the final revision on Monday.  I still do not have the cover files.  It is starting to piss me off.  I have three other covers to deal with in the next thirty days.  I do not want to spend an inordinate amount of time dealing with trying to get the final version of the new Dark Cotillion cover.  I sent the artist a “checking in” email last night, to which I have not gotten a response.

I think what I’m really irritated about, is that it has taken so long to get to this point, that I “settled” for a font that I’m not entirely sure I like because I was tired of waiting for the artist to respond to emails.  I don’t think they have a sound plan in place for this.  I am also pretty sure that I will not be using them again.  I get that shit happens, but send me an email telling me that shit has happened and it’s been delayed.  If it was an office place setting, this wouldn’t fly… I don’t see that internet work should be any different.  I have to work my butt off to get things done and when responding to cover artists, editors and anyone else for that matter, they may wait an hour or two, but never more than that.  Hell, I worked with the Tortured Dreams cover artist from a dart tournament, where I was throwing, in order to get it done and not have the artist sitting on her hands waiting to hear from me!

Last night, I did see the first draft of The Dysfunctional Honeymoon cover.  It is interesting… the jury is still out because I’m not sure we can make it work.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

