My Interest in the Paranormal – It isn’t that Interesting


I have a complicated story to tell today.  It doesn’t include ghosts, aliens or cryptids.  It does involve my interest in the paranormal and the fall of the Soviet Union… Bare with me.

In October 1991, I won my school geography bee.  That’s the sort of geek I am.  I was 11 years old.  In December, there was a “warm-up” to the district.  Essentially, a weeding out process.  There were only sixteen spots, I took first (told you I was a geography geek).  Districts took place in February 1992.

I went to districts full of confidence.  I lost in the second round because I did not know the capital of Kazakhstan.  I had never even heard of the country.  Despondent, I went home to determined to find out where the heck Kazakhstan was…

It turns out it was part of the former Soviet Union, I had known it had fallen, but I hadn’t know it was made up of multiple countries.  I hadn’t taken the time to learn the countries that had been absorbed and then released by the fall of the Soviet Union.  Obviously, the problem was bigger than I had realized.  So, I cracked a couple of books on the Soviet Union to figure out what I had missed.

This lead me to World War II.  It also lead me to the realize that the Soviet Union, the United States and Nazi Germany had all been employing psychics and other forms of paranormal to try to win the war.

I was fascinated that the Superpowers of the 1930’s and 40’s had been using psychics to try to win the war.  This took my research in a different direction.  I was now determined to discover the “what” and “why” of the paranormal.

Told you it wasn’t that interesting.  However, my love of history has continued to drive my interest in the paranormal.  I now absorb just about any book written on the subject.  As a result, I have learned much, been left with many questions and continue to pursue the subject with avid interest.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

