Popularity


Yesterday I read an article explaining how Amazon calculates popularity… ie: decides how often and to whom they should recommend your books to. It is an algorithm based on the number of social interactions and page clicks, not purchases.

I find that very interesting.

I knew you could buy your way onto a best sellers list. I didn’t realize you could hack you way to popularity on Amazon.

Essentially if you have 300 close acquaintances you could easily propel your book forward onto the popularity charts. All you need to do is get them to post using the Amazon social interactions button. So if someone tweets your book from the Amazon page and another posts it to Facebook while another pins… well, you get the point.

Basically it is getting your friends to viral market for you.

I have mixed feelings about this. Yes, I ask readers who like the book to write a review, but to get all my friends and family and fans to viral market for me seems a bit wrong. And it isn’t an actual show of popularity. I belong to a dart league and I attend a ton of tournaments. If I convinced half of them to socially share my book… roughly 1000 likes could be obtained in a short time.

But they wouldn’t be honest

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I am constantly amazed when Amazon send me emails that recommend books to me…and my own book is always on there. Don’t they take the fact that I WROTE IT into account? Or do they think I might want to check it over just once more…?

    Like

    Reply
    • Hadena James

       /  March 15, 2013

      My own books are recommended to me as well, which is interesting since I write with a Nom de Plume. I actually downloaded a copy of Dark Cotillion to see if “owning” my own book stopped it and it didn’t.

      Like

      Reply
  2. I don’t understand I’ve often heard this before. How can a author buy themselves into a bestseller list? p.s love the post.

    Like

    Reply
    • There are companies you pay to “pre-order” your books or to buy hundreds of copies of digital books the week it is released. Since best seller lists are calculated based on a books sales for that week, it puts you on the best seller list. Essentially, you are paying for your own books, but using a company to do it since you can only buy so many copies your own work and have them count or with ebooks, you can only buy one copy.

      Thanks! 😀

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

